Recent Posts

Cranberry-Lemon Kale Salad With Pinenuts

Cranberry-Lemon Kale Salad With Pinenuts

This salad is simple yet fancy at the same time.  The combination of cranberries, pinenuts and lemons sometimes make me dream about this salad.  I know….dreaming about salad = crazy! Pinenuts are perfect for when you want to fancy up your salad, especially if your entertaining…

One-Pot Mexican Quinoa

One-Pot Mexican Quinoa

We made One Pot Mexican Quinoa for dinner last night and fell in love!!  This is one of the best recipes we have tried in a long time so I felt I had to share it here.   Our dinner conversation sounded something like “Omg this…

Easy Tomato Chickpea Curry

Easy Tomato Chickpea Curry

This vegan chickpea curry is one our favourite go-to dinner recipes. Chickpeas, tomato paste, onions and indian spices make a simple but flavourful plant-based dinner packed with protein and fiber.   We often make this curry as a weekday dinner and pair it with sauteed green veggies…

Simple Red Lentil Soup

Simple Red Lentil Soup

I’m not sure if I ever had lentils before I met Mr. Pea.  Now lentil soup is one of my favourite weekday meals.   This dairy-free soup spiced with cumin, turmeric and garam masala is a surprisingly hearty lunch or dinner and pairs perfectly with naan,…

Lemon-Blueberry Cornmeal Muffins

Lemon-Blueberry Cornmeal Muffins

It’s the kick-off of the holiday season today: the Toronto Santa Claus Parade + decorating our Christmas Tree.  It was also extremely cold when I woke up with the tiniest bit of snow outside.  All these factors combined I decided some decadent baking was in order!…

Multigrain Tomato Rosemary Focaccia

Multigrain Tomato Rosemary Focaccia

I can’t believe we are sharing this recipe! I’m so excited because it is one of my favourites.  Over the past year Mr. Pea has become somewhat of an expert bread-maker.  This fits him perfectly since he is also an early riser. Waking up to fresh-baked bread?  Definitely…

Rutabaga vs Turnip: What’s the Difference?

Rutabaga vs Turnip: What’s the Difference?

When temperatures drop and winter sets in, the go-to for every homebody is a steaming hot bowl of something delicious and enriching. While potatoes are the default ingredient for any creamy soup or hearty stew worth its salt, there are plenty of other vegetables that…

Are Starburst Vegan?

Are Starburst Vegan?

No – Starburst are not vegan. If you’ve been thinking about starting a vegan diet, you may be curious to know whether these popular candies are suitable for your new lifestyle. What are Starburst? Produced by Mars Incorporated, Starburst has been around since 1960 and…

Cilantro Mushroom Soup

Cilantro Mushroom Soup

I’m struggling a bit with what to write in this post; so I’m just going to focus on the soup!!  This vegan cilantro soup recipe combines onions, portabello mushrooms caps and garlic with tons of cilantro and a hint of lime juice and spice. It…

Vegan Mushroom Barley Risotto

Vegan Mushroom Barley Risotto

This luxurious vegan mushroom barley risotto is my new go-to recipe for special occasion dinners.  It’s silky and rich without any of the cheese or butter and is super easy to make! Swapping barley for arborio rice makes it is less labour-intensive than traditional risotto…

Smoky Harvest Apple Chips

Smoky Harvest Apple Chips

This recipe combines sweet and savoury flavors; making it the perfect autumn snack food. The best part is that no dehydrator is necessary! This recipe just requires a bit of time and a regular oven. You simply chop up the apples, season with smoked paprika,…

Vegan Gingerbread House Extravaganza

Vegan Gingerbread House Extravaganza

Decorating homemade gingerbread houses is a holiday tradition in my family.  I think we made them every single year when I was little. My mom would bake copious amounts of gingerbread and my Dad would play amateur architect constructing the houses with melted sugar. My sister…

Are Jolly Ranchers Vegan?

Are Jolly Ranchers Vegan?

Jolly ranchers are somewhat vegan, but not entirely. It depends on the type of jolly rancher as there are different kinds, such as hard candies, chews, gummies, jelly beans, and lollipops – and also on how strict of a vegan you are. What are Jolly…

Spicy Potato Hash With Avocado

Spicy Potato Hash With Avocado

This potato hash recipe is a favorite weekend brunch of ours.  It’s perfect for when you feel like something hearty and savory in the morning but can also make a good simple option for last-minute dinners. Nicely browned potatoes are the star of this dish and…

Pear and Walnut Salad With Apple Vinaigrette

Pear and Walnut Salad With Apple Vinaigrette

I had great plans of multiple blog posts this week, but one thing led to another and here we are on Sunday afternoon writing my first post since last weekend! I realize now that I totally took for granted the number of posts my favourite food bloggers make…

Is Soy Sauce Vegan?

Is Soy Sauce Vegan?

Yes – soy sauce is vegan. If you’re new to the vegan lifestyle and are curious to know more about why soy sauce is vegan – here’s the lowdown. What is Soy Sauce? Originating from Southeast Asia, soy sauce is a condiment that has been…

Is Ketchup Vegan?

Is Ketchup Vegan?

Yes, ketchup is vegan. One of the most popular condiments, ketchup is loved by many all around the world. And, if you find yourself in the United States, you’re guaranteed to see it in just about every restaurant. Perhaps you’re new to a vegan diet…

Is Lactic Acid Vegan?

Is Lactic Acid Vegan?

Yes, lactic acid is vegan – well, most of the time, anyways. This ingredient name is a bit misleading, as the root word, “lac-” in lactic acid refers to milk, leading one to believe that it comes from an animal, while it’s actually sourced from…

Are Takis Vegan?

Are Takis Vegan?

On the market since the 90’s, odds are you’ve tried Takis before if you’re a fan of chip variety in your life. Yes, Takis chips are indeed vegan. If you’ve recently gone vegan, or have been for some time, perhaps you’re wondering if Takis chips…

Is Hummus Vegan?

Is Hummus Vegan?

Yes, hummus is vegan. An ancient dish, hummus has been around almost longer than Jesus. Ok – well maybe not that long, but.. it’s been said to have been around since 13th-century Egyptian times. Most of you are likely familiar with hummus or at least…

Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan?

Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan?

The short and sweet answer is no. This extraordinarily common sweet treat is a favorite childhood one for many, and might continue to be even into adulthood for some. If you’ve recently begun a vegan diet and have had a craving to relive your childhood…