There are many foods which you might think are definitely vegan, but in fact contain or are made with animal products. It’s really quite sad that even simple, pure foods “need” to be tampered with and contaminated with animal products. Read on to find out which foods may not be vegan after all…
Unfortunately for those of us who enjoy the odd beer, some beers are made with animal products. Isinglass (fish swim bladders) are used by some manufacturers as a fining agent to remove sediment. Beers may also be refined with gelatin (derived from the ligaments and bones of cows) or chitosan (derived from crab shells). While none of these products remain in the finished beer, the fact they have been used in the process makes these beers unsuitable for vegans. Wine may also use the above fining agents, and may also be produced with eggs or milk products. To check if your beer or wine is vegan, check out barnivore.com or the Vegaholic app.
Did any of these foods surprise you?
What other foods are surprisingly non-vegan?
Leave a comment below…